To content


Scientific work in the Department of Rehabilitation Sciences at TU Dortmund University is supported and rewarded with numerous prizes and awards. Outstanding achievements in the Bachelor's and Master's phases are awarded just as much as excellent final theses or special doctoral projects.

The funding for these prizes comes from private donations from our professors, foundations and industry.

Awards of the TU Dortmund and the Department

  • 2020/21: Lasse Joers, Jana Konkel, Tatjana Bargiel, Aljoscha Asdonk, Lina Hardt
  • 2019/20: Francesco Ciociola, Lasse Joerss, Lina Hardt, Rebecca Reimering, Tatjana Bargiel, Vera Kropp
  • 2018/19: Antonia Marquard, Noemie Backmann-Stockhofe, Lina Hardt, Katja Lehnen, Rebecca Reimering, Vanessa Möllers
  • 2017/18: Sandra Kuhlemann, Lisa Grabarczyk, Antonia Marquard, Julia Holtel, Ingrid Vanessa Agudelo Henao
  • 2016/17: Anton Bronstein, Philipp Heyn, Sandra Kuhlemann, Sema Olukcu, Lisa Gabarczyk
  • 2015/16: Ajumi Heinz, Rebecca Hüninghake, Sema Olukcu, Inga Stratmann, Lisa Gabarczyk
  • 2014/15: Sevinc Kaya, Franziska Becker, Lisa Stricker
  • 2013/14: Laurie Rogall, Lisa Stricker, Janna Starke, Martina Gandrya
  • 2012/13: Kristin Langer, Kateryna Burtniak, Tania Luch
  • 2011/12: Kristin Langer, Kateryna Burtniak

Once a year (end of the year), an awardof 500 euros will be awarded to a winner from the Faculty of Rehabilitation Sciences.

  • 2020: Francesco Ciociola
  • 2019: Carmen Estella Borssolani
  • 2018: Teresa Mann
  • 2017: Vanessa Heitplatz
  • 2016: Michelle Möhring
  • 2015: Johanna Höfener
  • 2014: Jessica Baeske
  • 2013: Astrid Edith Sian Tan
  • 2012: Katharina Schabarum
  • 2011: Alexandre Dros/Nicole Nowakowski, Ann-Cathérine Fougeras
  • 2010: Lis Marie Diehl
  • 2009: 1st semester: Thomas Lutterbeck, Simon Baumann
                2nd semester: Ricarda, Menke, Anna-Lena Breidenbach
  • 2008: 1st semester: Carina Cramer
                2nd semester: Katharina Hillenbrand
  • 2007: 1st semester: Michaela Möllerfeld, Carina Vinbruck
                2nd semester: Lydia Pottebaum, Bianca Sips
  • 2006: 1st semester: Julia Pohlmann, Barbara Strumann
                2nd semester: Lena Zeidler
  • 2005: 1st semester: Mario Hammerschmidt
                2nd semester: Stefan Wewel
  • 2004: 1st semester: Henner Frebel, Birgit Hennig-Mouihate
                2nd semester: Hanno Bültermann

Every year, 16 prize winners are awarded 500 euros per department. The sponsor of the award is the Society of Friends of the Technical University of Dortmund.

  • 2020: Nora Schumm
  • 2019: Mara Buning
  • 2018: Deike Wagner
  • 2017: Svenja Krafzick, Esther Schmidt
  • 2016: Katrin Wefelmeier
  • 2015: Amrei Euphemia Epp
  • 2014: Neele Sophia Koopmann
  • 2013: Anne Pferdekämper
  • 2012: Jana Renken
  • 2011: Julia-Madeleine Budde
  • 2010: Ulla Grube
  • 2009: Silke Scheffler
  • 2008: Sandra Krenz
  • 2007: Anika Korbmacher
  • 2006: Jenny Prüfe
  • 2005: Melanie Mühlhaus, Ariane Raichle
  • 2004: Dipl.-Päd. Thor Wanzek

Applications can be submitted every year by 1 September. 16 prize winners are awarded. The prize money is up to 1,500 euros per department. The sponsor of the prize is the Society of Friends of the Technische Universität Dortmund.

  • 2020: Dr. Jana Jungjohann
  • 2019: -----
  • 2018: Dr. Lena Bömelburg
  • 2017: Dr. Marion Schnurnberger, Dr. Carsten Bender
  • 2016: Dr Sabine Zehnder-Grob
  • 2015: Dr Carina Lüke
  • 2014: -----
  • 2013: Dr. Annette Degener
  • 2012: Dr Juliane Leuders
  • 2011: Dr. Birgit Scheer
  • 2010: Dr. Birgit Rothenberg
  • 2009: Dr. Markus Schäfers
  • 2007: Dr. Annett Thiele
  • 2006: Dr. Bettina Bretländer, Dr. Thomas Breucker
  • 2005: Dr. Ingo Bosse, Dr. Susanne Winkelmann
  • 2004: Dr Ruth Hamsen, Dr Gudrun Wansing

Additional awards and award winners

Every year, the Rudolf Chaudoire Foundation awards the eponymous prize. It is awarded to young scientists in recognition of their outstanding achievements. The prize money enables them to spend a research period abroad. The Rudolf Chaudoire Foundation grew out of the legacy of an industrialist based in the Ruhr region who was keen to promote vocational training for young people.

  • 2006: Claudia Schlesiger

G-Dur is coordinated by the Technical University of Dortmund and supported by the dortmund-project and the NRW universities' patent utilization company "PROvendis". G-DUR network partners are the Technical University of Dortmund, the Dortmund University of Applied Sciences, the City of Dortmund with its start2grow start-up competition of the dortmund-project as well as the technology centers in Dortmund, Hamm, Kamen, Lünen and Schwerte.  The competition started on November 13, 2007, with expert evaluators assessing the ideas. Based on the expert opinions, an independent jury from science, business and politics decided on the best ideas.

  • 2007: Christian Bott (for developing of a cell phone for blind people that can photograph and read oiut texts aloud)

Since 2002, the Soroptimist Club Dortmund has awarded the prize for special achievements to one female student/graduate/young master each year. The prize is awarded primarily for achievements during the basic studies/bachelor's studies (top of the class), outstanding student research projects or term papers, possibly diploma theses of the past year and particularly good training qualifications.

  • 2008: Elke Rensing
  • 2011: Laura Wagner
  • 2010: Ninja Wölki
  • 2008: Carolin Hüser

The prize is awarded for a social science paper in the field of social economics and social management which has the potential to significantly influence the practice of social work. Particular emphasis is placed on concrete proposals and methods, as well as originality and practicability for implementation and their economic benefits in everyday life. The ConSozial Science Prize is awarded by the Bavarian State Ministry of Labor and Social Affairs, Family and Women and comes with prize money of €4,000 in the categories of young talent, science and lifetime achievement.

  • 2008: Dr. Markus Schäfers